The Short Mystery Fiction Society has announced the winners of its 2011 Derringer Awards :

Best Flash Story (less then 1,001 words): TIE“The Book Signing,” by Kathy Kencharik (from Thin Ice: Crime Stories By New England Writers, edited by Mark Ammons, Kat Fast, Barbara Ross, and Leslie Wheeler; Level Best Books, 2010), and The Unknown Substance,” by Jane Hammons (A Twist of Noir, December 27, 2010)

Also nominated: “Blues in the Night,” by Carol Kilgore (Dark Valentine, May 2010); “Homeless,” by Patricia Morin (from Mystery Montage; Top, 2010); and “Stick a Needle in My Eye,” by Julia Madeleine (Powder Burn Flash, No. 302, May 5, 2010)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words): “Pewter Badge,” by Michael J. Solender (Yellow Mama, August 2010)

Also nominated: “My Asshole Brother,” by Eric Beetner (A Twist of Noir, May 7, 2010); “Seventy-two Hours or Less,” by Michael J. Solender (A Twist of Noir, April 23, 2010); Broken Down on the Bonneville Flats,” by Jack Bates ( Beat to a Pulp, October 17, 2010); and Angel of Mercy,” by David Price (Beat to a Pulp, January 31, 2010)

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words): TIE“Care of the Circumcised Penis,” by Sean Doolittle (ThugLit Presents: Blood, Guts, and Whiskey, edited by Todd Robinson; Kensington, 2010), and “Interpretation of Murder,” by B. K. Stevens (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine [AHMM], December 2010)

Also nominated: “A Tour of the Tower,” by Christine Poulson ( Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], March/April 2010); “Silicon Kings,” by Richard Helms (The Back Alley Webzine, April 2010); and “The Little Nogai Boy,” by R.T. Lawton (AHMM, September 2010)

Best Novelette (8,001-17,500 words): “Rearview Mirror,” by Art Taylor (EQMM, March 2010)

Also nominated: “Deserters,” by Chris Muessig ( AHMM, March 2010); “The Gods for Vengeance Cry,” by Richard Helms (EQMM, November 2010); “The Man with One Eye,” by Stephen Ross (EQMM, December 2010); and “The Scent of Lilacs,” by Doug Allyn (EQMM, September/October 2010)

Congratulations to everyone, especially my mate Michael J Solender who gave up a cracking story.

The Derringer Awards will be presented at  Bouchercon 2011,  in St. Louis, Missouri, from September 15 to 18.

How la di da!